Children Impact Teachers

img_3564

 

 

 

Preschool teachers are not simply people who show up to work each day prepared for what the day will hold. A preschool teacher can make bold predictions about her day before it starts. She can estimate how many boo boos she will kiss better, or she can anticipate the tears and laughter. But at the beginning and end of each day, it is different. There is one concept┬áthat entitles a preschool teacher a continuous blessing; each day her life is impacted and changed by children. It does not mean that we believe we do each day perfect. It’s the end of those, not so perfect days, that can be discouraging. We run through our failures and take the day home with us. We have to remind ourselves, “I’m not perfect, and that’s okay,”.

Testimonies from how children have impacted teachers’ lives exist everywhere. I get the pleasure of hearing them everyday from ladies who let the passion of children flare in their hearts. I asked one teacher, Ms. Rica: How do children impact you?

“Children have impacted my life since I was two years old when my brother was born, and then again at eight, when my sister was born. Growing up I have always been the oldest out of all of my relatives. By the time I could ride a bike, I could also change a diaper, give a bath, and rock a baby to sleep. What’s more surprising (in retrospect) is that not only did I want to do all these things, but I also enjoyed it. It brought me the kind of happiness you can only get from helping someone else. This action has become the single, most important ethic of my life: helping others. Upon graduating high school, I had decided I wanted to be a teacher. I was discouraged by my class counselors. “There’s no money in teaching.” These words were all I heard over and over again, so I dismissed the idea. Almost ten years later, here I am. I’m a preschool teacher at The Gardner School of Brentwood. It took me ten years to figure out there are some things more valuable than money. When my kids cry, I feel their pain. When they laugh, I laugh with them. On a daily basis, they shape how I feel, what I converse about, and most of all, how much good I’m putting back out into the world. Much like a novel coming full circle, I am here, spending my days being surrounded by children. I could not imagine doing anything else with my life.”

One commonality that rose among all teachers:

“Children teach us life is simple.”

A day in the life of a preschool teacher is not always an easy one, but it’s fulfilling, none the less.

More answers as to why teachers are the best thing can be found everywhere!

 

Leave a Reply

